Turning Thirty

We remember that we’ve got wedding invitations to show you but as tomorrow is my 30th birthday, we’ve created a little poster to celebrate this weighty and overwhelming occasion. Instead of focusing on the past the poster illustrates 30 (of all the) things I’ve yet to learn in the future.

This was an opportunity to use a style of illustration we developed for a book that never came through so even though it took more time than we had expected, we enjoyed working on the poster.

e birthday poster

e birthday poster

e birthday poster details

e-birthday-detail-1

e-birthday-detail-5

e-birthday-detail-9

e-birthday-detail-13

e-birthday-detail-16

e-birthday-detail-19

e-birthday-detail-22

e-birthday-detail-25

e-birthday-detail-27

e-birthday-detail-29

e-birthday-detail-30(Thanks everyone for the lovely words of support.)

28 comments
  1. Reblogged this on Steph Palallos and commented:
    Procrastinating again. Looking around the web and found this. Fabulous! I should make a poster like this for me (BLEEP!!) birthday. Number 1 on my Yet-To-Learn list: how to stop procrastinating. :)

  2. Pingback: Turning thirty | ,

  3. Angeli ♥ said:

    Reblogged this on IV-FDM and commented:
    Now I know.

    • I’ve no idea how offensive that would be but it sure sounds good. Thank you!

  4. mvj30 said:

    I adore this list, both the visuals and the thoughts. My 30th is coming up soon as well, so thanks for the inspiration and happy late birthday!

  5. Absolutely love this poster – your illustrations are gorgeous and it’s just such a lovely and fun concept! I’m turning 30 in March, might just have to take some of these on!
    Also, just discovered your blog and portfolio – love your work!

  6. joeyjeelove said:

    This is sooo cute! Give me a reason to live my life with fun instead of grumbling “I’m getting old!” in front of the mirror all the time. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Andi said:

    Haha I absolutely love this!

  8. Thanks again, all you guys. You make growing older less un-fun.

  9. kaykay said:

    Saw your work featured on Design Taxi. I’m nearing 30. Your artwork is awesome. I hope your 30th birthday was amazing and all the best in the design world!

  10. Maria said:

    Loved your perspective. i’m 28, almost there too, and I think I’m going to follow your example :)

  11. thingsitaughtmyself said:

    Great idea that was well executed. Happy Birthday! 30 is the new 20.

  12. Jessie said:

    This is amazing! Happy Birthday.

  13. I love the poster! All the best, maybe one day you’ll tick them all off. :)

  14. wow! i just turned the dirty thirty last week! so I know how overwhelming it is! happy early birthday! hope you’re going to have a great day. btw, great poster! love it!

  15. Elsie said:

    I turned 30 this year also and I also was overwhelmed to have reached this age but still feel in my 20s. I love this poster, a lot of these apply to me and I’m glad I’m not the only one that’s struggles in a swimming pool! As a present to myself, I have just ticked off one item off my bucket list this week and booked my flights to Paris! Here’s to growing old gracefully and achieving everything we possibly can to make us feel young again. Great post and really inspiring!

    • Thank you, I’m glad the post makes someone feel good. Best luck with your list!

  16. Yup! Most of the wish-list matches up :D A very Happy Birthday :)

  17. Start with number 15. You will feel much better, when – just in one day – you have only 29 things to do.

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,414 other followers

